My Top Five Strange Poetry Readings

5

On a Routemaster bus

Spitalfields Market, 2009. There were only five people in the audience, which was about as many as you’d want in a bus. I sold two books though, which is a good ratio.

4

In a curiosity shop in Hackney

I think it was run by artist collective LE GUN. The audience stood, while I sat. In the window display. 2007.

3

On the same bill as Alan Moore

Also, Iain Sinclair and a man bashing the f**k out of sheet metal. Sage Gateshead, 2010. I got a great back-handed compliment in this review.

2

In Athens

This was more about the political context than the physical location (a bar in Exarchia), as there were anti-government protests and riots almost every day of my trip, and I read a rather inflammatory piece called ‘Athens Burns’. 2010. I blogged about it here.

1

In the Gents

Filthy McNasty’s pub, Islington as part of an event called The Washroom Projects, 2005. It was rammed, and a bit smelly.

§

And where would I like to read next?

Here, in the prison cells originally used as Newgate overspill. Perfect venue for a reading from The Terrors.

3 Comments

  1. Liverpool readings can often be enlivened by a guy who wanders in demanding to read one of yours. Surprised the snarky reviewer was unable to spell Barry MacSweeney’s name.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

