I’ll be a Chivers guy some day

 

Divine, by Sebastien Tellier

No no no no no no no
I’m looking for a band today
I see the Chivers anyway
Through my eyes
Oh oh oh
I . . . I’m alone in life to say
I love the Chivers anyway
’Cause Chivers look divine
Look away
They try to find the Milky Way
They love to drink it every day
No no no no no no no
Toi et moi, c’est comme tu sais
Comment mon coeur a succombé
You look fine
Oh oh oh
I . . . I’m alone in life to say
I love the Chivers anyway
’Cause Chivers look divine
Look away
They try to find the Milky Way
I’m . . . I’m alone in life to say
I love the Chivers anyway
In your eyes
Oh oh oh
I’m looking for a band today
I see the Chivers anyway
I’ll be a Chivers guy some day
In my mind

* Chivers is a slang term for a hip young musician

9 Comments

  1. By far, best song in Eurovision this year. I didn’t know about Tellier before, and I’m gonna buy his albums, for sure. Thanks for the meaning of “chivers”, I was looking for it.
    Great blog, by the way,

    Reply

  2. Oh oh oh I…
    I love this song every day
    C’est formidable en anglais
    Thought Chivers was a drink, but nay
    It doesn’t matter anyway
    Its just divine…

    Reply

  3. This song is great! Why it didn’t win i will never know! oh wait yes i do, its because France is too close to England!

    Reply

  4. I’m amazed that France keeps entering those really good quality songs for Eurovision. They were by far the best last year too.

    Reply

  5. Thanks for the chivers definition, I have been looking for it. Saw Sebastien in a Future Musician issue and he puts the “white” in Barry White with songs like these. Really funny too.

    Reply

  6. Great! I was looking for Chivers’ meaning and found your site. I agree: Divine was the best Euro2008 song, as I mention in my site. I even have it as ringtone in my cell! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

